Try to drive without at least the minimum liability auto insurance in Arkansas, and you can face a hefty fine and the loss of your driving privileges for three months if caught. Get caught a second time, and the fine and time without your license increases. That's not a risk worth taking. However, minimum coverages are just a starting point for most automobile owners when deciding what types of insurance coverage they need for their car, truck, SUV, or other motor vehicles.
The coverage demanded by state law doesn't cover things like repairs to your vehicle if you are in an accident, repairs if a tree falls on your car while it's parked in your driveway, or the driver's side window is shattered by someone trying to break into your vehicle. In fact, the liability coverage required by state law may not even be enough to protect you if you should cause an accident that injures another person or damages their property. Arkansas requires that you carry at least $25,000 per personal liability coverage for bodily injury and at least $25,000 in property damage coverage. However, with today's expensive health care costs, $15,000 can be used up rapidly. Once your insurance coverage is exhausted, the person injured can sue you for their additional medical expenses, putting your home, your retirement, and your children's education at risk. That's why many people opt for additional auto liability coverage over and above what is required by the state.
To learn more about getting the Arkansas auto and other vehicle insurance you need to protect your cars and your family, contact Timberline Insurance Agency, LLC. We've been helping vehicle owners like you for more than 25 years. Also, try our online rating tool for a quote on auto insurance from home.